asklinux
Ask Linux loaExMachina 1w ago 100%

I should've successfully configured internet sharing... Yet it still doesn't work.

Hello!

I recently moved, bringing both my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad X131e running Debian) and my desctop (msi A320m pro motherboard, amd ryzen 5 cpu, running Arch).

My desktop didn't have a wifi card (I'd removed it to add a graphic card, my mobo didn't fit them both), it uses ethernet, but it turns out my new place has wifi included, but no ethernet. I'll grab my wifi card where I left it in two weeks, but in the meantime I wanted to connect my computer to my laptop so I could still use it with internet sometimes.

I followed this guide to accomplish it: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Internet_sharing Regarding the parts where there are several options:

-For step 2.3.1 (Enable Nat) I used nftables, since that's what I had installed

-For step 2.4 I chose to manually add an IP

After that, the ethernet indicator at the bottom of my screen (I use i3) shows the address I added in green, so it should work... Alas, when I try updating or pinging any site, I get the "Temporary failure in name resolution" error. That is before I try to change anything about my dns conf. At the end, the wiki says "configure a dns server for each client". The client should already have a dns since I've been using it with ethernet. I tried manually setting the dns in mtui t see if that did something, but it just made the connection no longer work at all.

So, what part might I be doing wrong? Thank you in advance if you have any advice, and thank you anyway for reading!

4
0
Comments 0