nostupidquestions
No Stupid Questions weebkent 11h ago 100%

How do you get better at debate without necessarily doing a debate?

As in, how do you get better outside of just doing debate, since coordinating practice takes time with the group and you can't do it a lot due to time restraints. That and I don't think I can do it in a manner frequent enough, and focused enough. I assume you just do drills with your role? If so, what would be best?

For context, I got accepted as a 1st speaker for a college debate event in Asian parlament format. Experience wise, I am a beginner. Though I have done adjudications and had some practice with a newly formed club in the last year of high school, it was only isolated to that. No competitions with other schools or anything. Which is why I'm definitely not confident I can match a teammate of mine which has been doing debate for years and got to international level (to my knowledge). I'm not so much worried about my opponents per se, more so just that I don't want to hold my teammate back since as the 1st speaker, you have to set them up. I at least wanna do a somewhat decent job so that they can - to be blunt - "carry" us without worry.

Right now, I've just been dabbling with using ChatGPT as a sort of coach/adjudicator and I think it's pretty effective? If there are other methods I can do alone/in downtime/outside group practice, I would like to try them at least given the short time left until the event.

Sorry if this ended up a bit ramble-y, this was done on a whim and close to midnight, but yeah.

41
12
Comments 12