thesims
The Sims CorrodedCranium 2w ago 78%

Do you think The Sims will ever implement more unfortunate/disappointing aspects of real life into the game?

In The Sims you never really have to worry about taking a step back in life like downsizing to a smaller apartment or moving back in with your parents. I was wondering if you think EA will ever try to break away from this?

Things like a lack of career advancement, job uncertainty, and pay not scaling with rent hikes could be a neat twist. I feel like a lot of people use The Sims for a bit of escapism and things have gotten significantly more cartoony with The Sims 4 so I don't really see it happening.

I could see them adding mental disorders or homelessness but I feel like they'd whitewash a lot of it. In the case of homelessness for example I could see them depicting it like camping or off the grid living.

Maybe one of the Sims rivals that's being developed will tackle this? Who knows?


Some of this may have been implement to various degrees. I still mostly play The Sims 3. I've tried getting into 4 over the years but it's never stuck for me and it's been a while since my last attempt.

11
16
Comments 16